Meta

Quietly and without fanfare

Last week the one-year mark came and went.  I was excruciatingly aware that I was ignoring it, and not for smug and fashionable reasons either – I’m actually quite “proud” to have been doing this for a year, even with the last month or so being so quiet, and I’d have liked to have posted a “happy blogoversary” post to myself on the fifteenth.  Despite all the narcissism and egoism that implies.

Life is still not leaving me much room to even log into WoW, let alone blog about it.  Not that I resent that too much, it’s probably been about time I took a more extended break considering that previously the longest time I’ve ever had between one raid and another has been only slightly more than a week.  But to celebrate the one-year mark and smother myself in id, here are a small collection of some of my favourite posts from this blog.  In no particular order except sort of.

Cathedral Street: Easily my favourite post to write and several people have told me they particularly enjoyed it, I’d love to have written more like it.  It employs the clumsy yet appropriate metaphor of an oft-repeated journey to explore the value of World of Warcraft.  The question at the end is still one I find challenging.

The original blue juice: The second of my three posts on ‘real life’ shaman concepts and probably the most interesting, it also had the virtue of being headed up by a couple of sumptuously blue pictures.  Hugely enjoyable to write about relating real to fantasy.

Gear pollution: I was really getting into my stride with long, slightly complain-y posts by the time I wrote this, and it attracted a vast amount of views and comments thanks to being featured on a number of other blogs including WoW Insider.  There were so many good comments that I posted a separate follow-up.  I loved the sense of interaction and debate I got from those posts.

Rotface and stuff: It seems hilariously lame to have ever wiped on Rotface normal, even if he was hideously overtuned on launch, but I had a blast ranting about the wipes in a blog post.  It wasn’t subtle or clever, but it was fun to write!

Every so often a new alt (or old alt rediscovered) inspired me to be frivolous and glib, so I wrote about how I one-shotted the tank after a dungeon binge, then about the trials and tribulations of being a single abstract death knight.  The adventures of my alts are sure to feature further when I can work up sufficient enthusiasm and/or ire.

A change in paradigm was my attempt to work through the SKY IS FALLING raid size/difficulty changes recently announced for Cataclysm.  It’s funny, looking back, how worked up we get over stuff which now probably doesn’t seem all that important anymore.  I still applaud Blizzard for moves like this but wish they’d do it more often and more deliberately.

In a very special episode on the 20th anniversary of Nelson Mandela’s release from prison, I talked about the first person I ever considered a real hero, and how important it was not to lose sight of guys like de Klerk while we romp about in our fantasy world.

Pick-up-groups and leaders: This has a special place in my heart for being the first long rambly thing I ever posted.  At the time, despite LK-Naxx having been puggable from day one, I was still finding it hard to get used to the whole idea of “PUG raiding” which later became so normal during the ICC era that I barely even thought about it anymore.

Doing things differently in Ulduar was my fond farewell to that instance and a plea for its lessons to be learned.  I’ve since gone back there several times to get the meta done on alts and had a total blast.

Late to the party jumped on the bandwagon only to find it had already been returned to the garage, but resolved to have a rollicking good time anyway.  It took me something like 3000 words to find my stride but I finally managed to express why I found the fantasy works of Lewis and Le Guin so brilliantly progressive.  Except I used better words than the cold, harsh and almost entirely undescriptive “progressive”.

Looking back over these posts and others reminds me just how much I’ve enjoyed having this little soapbox to rant and ramble from, and even more so how much fun it’s been to interact with various passers-by, fellow bloggers and friends here.  Every so often the opportunity presented itself to have guest posters contribute too (I’ll do a round up of past guest posts sometime), which is something I’d like to do more of in the future.  It also reminds me of the curious love/hate relationship I have with stuff I write, how long and how short a year is, how many entirely random pictures I’ve used to make my posts look nice to me personally while confusing others, and how obscenely difficult it often is to find a suitable sentence on which to end a post.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Quietly and without fanfare

  1. Congratulations on your one-year mark! It’s a pretty decent notch on the stick as far as blogger longevity goes. I’ve enjoyed your thoughtful posts, and look forward to more :)

    Posted by Kae | October 21, 2010, 1:45 pm
  2. Happy belated blogoversary to you! Blogging for an entire year isn’t a small achievement. Most wanna-be-bloggers don’t even make it into the two-month mark.

    Here’s to many more readworthy high quality blogposts (which is a mark of yours)

    cheers!

    Posted by Larísa | October 21, 2010, 1:45 pm
  3. Thanks, and double thanks – both your blogs, Kae and Larísa, have been inspirational to me since before I began blogging myself :)

    Posted by Charles | October 21, 2010, 5:54 pm
  4. I do suppose congratulations are in order, both for the anniversary and for the break, which really can do you good. My current, semi-involuntary break from WoW is quite an experience, since I’m about to break my record for longest-time-without-wow since the game was released to semi-open beta testing. It makes one (at least me) think about what I am (was/will be) doing, why I was doing it, and most importantly, what I miss about it. (Something that is true both for my WoW-life and my regular one, to be fair, self-imposed exile does that to you).

    I also suppose that I have you to tank for implanting me with the idea to start a blog, although mine really has nothing to do with WoW, the guest post I did a few moths back kind of reignited my fondness of writing pretentious things in English.

    But I digress, even though I skipped your in-deep elemental posts, the other ones have been both fun and interesting to read, and I hope you won’t stop writing any time soon.

    Posted by clavicus | October 22, 2010, 5:30 pm
  5. Congratultions. I found your blog extremeley helpful while learning to play and playing my elemental shamen, it allowed me to come back to WOW and ditch my priest entirely. Your blog was very informative and well written.

    I hope you enjoy your break from the game as much as I enjoyed my own.

    Posted by Eneelia | October 22, 2010, 6:35 pm
  6. A grats delayed by Blizzcon, but a sincere grats nonetheless. The shaman community (and blogging community at large) is the better for having you in it.

    Posted by Vixsin | October 25, 2010, 2:25 pm
  7. Congrats on the one year mark as well.

    I am brand new to the blogging scene after intentionally avoiding it for several years. A full year seems to be quite the accomplishment though.

    Posted by Gaia | October 27, 2010, 4:37 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

