Meta, Opinion, WoW

Seven stormy mornings

Even though the itemisation team at Blizzard take a lot of flak for producing “suboptimal” items, you’ve got to give them credit for their naming.  The Icecrown loot lists being produced on MMO-Champion have some great examples of this.  The title for this post comes from a pair of Mail SP/hit/crit bracers from the Icecrown 5-mans.  Their itemisation is awful but the name is beautiful!  There are quite a few other gems out there, not least the new Saronite Gargoyle Cloak :]

One stormy morning.

The patch when they added weather effects to WoW was one of the happiest moments of my WoW life.  Yeah, I can admit it.  It’s almost a shame WoW can’t replicate a true earthly stormy morning but then… it’s probably just as well, or maybe we’d never go outside anymore!  Though that heavy rain in Stranglethorn Vale comes fairly close.

Massive blogging failure

I can’t believe how quickly the last couple of weeks have flown by.  This is now the second weekend I’ve reached and realised I’ve still not prepared my third Focus post or gotten around to putting up my Feral DPS power auras setup.  And I only made one proper post this week!  …though I think it was quite a good one, and it did feature a great picture of a moose.  And the list of stuff to write about is growing instead of shrinking.  I guess it’s a good thing that I won’t run out of ideas anytime soon.

Life outwith the interwebs is picking up a bit and intruding upon my blogging time.  I spent all of Thursday at varsity talking to friends and lecturers, which was lovely but left me all frazzled out.  On Friday morning I turned on the computer thinking I’d fix a small bug with heroism cast times in ZAP and only emerged several hours later, the sky outside now dark, and the lights in my brain dimming noticably too.  On top of that, the sense of urgency I felt about getting out my first posts is almost entirely gone.  I figure two or three posts a week is a reasonable target now, even if only one of them is actually useful.

Traffic patterns

One stormy morning in Washington State.  I love stormy mornings SO MUCH.

Last week I had a huge surge of traffic from folks clicking through the Circle of Healers trail.  This week I had a similar surge from the spreadsheet posts on EJ and Wowhead’s forums (Oh, did I mention that I updated the spreadsheet yesterday?  ‘cos I did).  This sort of traffic tends to be quite temporary and specific and generates huge numbers of page views as folks explore the site for the first time, but in between it’s getting a more regular stream of “normal” traffic which is nice to see.

There’s also a lot of clickthrough from search engines for terms like “elemental shaman haste or crit”, which is giving me more ideas for future posts and making me feel like I should update some old ones.  The Lava Burst one is particularly in need of a makeover because the leaps and bounds I’ve made in my math-fu since starting on ZAP! has given me a much bigger toolkit to evaluate issues of that sort.

Speaking of storms

Last weekend’s post on The Earthly Shamanism didn’t generate any massive storms of controversy, and nobody posted to say they hated it.  I realise that might be because those people to whom it didn’t appeal never actually bother to read that far.  There were a few encouraging comments, so every fortnight or so for the next couple of months I’ll aim to put up a short post on another “real world” perspective on an aspect of WoW’s shamans, continuing next weekend with the story behind mana.

It may not be obvious (or maybe it is :D ), but math and I are not naturally the best of friends.  I can do math and analysis to a certain level and I can write reasonably decent guides to playing an elemental shaman, but it’s like climbing a hill – it takes effort and work.  Writing about people, how we think, what we believe, how our cultures look… well, that’s my real passion – that’s more like skiing downhill.  So it suits me to do posts like the above every so often.

I’m getting more confident in the maths stuff, but I’m still making mistakes and my level of general understanding is still relatively basic (compared to the guys who write complex simulator programs like EnhanceSim).  I don’t understand why the elemental community doesn’t presently seem to have any vocal maths gurus.  Was everyone just taking it for granted that Binkenstein would do all the hard work for them?  Or maybe all the serious elemental theorycrafting is taking place in corners of the internet which I’ve not yet found.

I don’t know how to end this post so I’ll leave you with a couple of Swedish girls in a forest with a guitar harmonising to a Fleet Foxes song.  It may not be Captain Kirk climbing a mountain but then, what is?

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Seven stormy mornings

  1. A bit of a random post, just wanted to say keep up the good work! Also, thanks for reminding me of that Fleet Foxes cover vid. It’s so beautiful :’)

    Posted by Razz | November 14, 2009, 4:27 pm
  2. I take your Fleet Foxes cover and raise you Jump Around: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eREFfB0TcJM

    Posted by Sinespe | November 16, 2009, 2:50 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

